Refuse to be Passive

Work Frustrations

In Uncategorized on March 7, 2014 at 11:48 am

I’ve been at my current job for ten months now. My boss loves me, and in general, I love the people I work with. While the work isn’t exactly thrilling, it’s certainly not a bad gig. I work in an industry that for many people would be a dream. I want to quit.

Why, you might ask. Well, my current job has a tendency of putting me in awkward positions. While I am simply the office manager, I often wind up doubling as human resources. Sadly, I seem to be the complaint line, but have no power to implement change. For me, this is extremely frustrating.

Beyond that, I lack respect for how my current supervisor does business. Rather than nipping issues in the bud, he lets them fester until people’s minds are poisoned. However, upon sitting down with them, he has so much charisma oozing out of his pores that he can generally mollify and even make the person he’s talking to change their mind and see things from his point of view. If that doesn’t work, he simply reduces their shifts until they quit, or waits to find a reason to fire them. Basically, it’s a toxic work environment. I have no doubt that he could do that to anyone, even me, if I wasn’t such an integral part of the business. 

I believe in the place that I work, but I’m not impressed with how business is done. I want it to succeed, but I want to succeed on the high ground not by making decisions that are suspect and sweep the dirt under the rug. I don’t want to work in a place where the tensions run high because no one actually knows where they stand.

Beyond my boss is another senior staffer who is rather high strung. He has a tendency to blow issues out of proportion and is not terribly good at handling conflict. This is an issue when you’re a direct staff supervisor. Somehow, people always take offense to what he says. Maybe some business and communication classes would be good for him, as well as conflict management.

Don’t get me wrong, I really like both of these individuals as people. I just don’t respect their business ethic. I understand that there is a need to make the business a success, but your staff should be your core. They should be your biggest supporters, not those who get trampled under foot and lead to bad word-of-mouth.

Well, I’ll take it a day at a time. If it gets to the point I can’t handle it anymore, so be it. 

Leave a Reply

