Refuse to be Passive

Frappe please!

In Uncategorized on June 16, 2013 at 10:58 am

Last week I was staring at the lukewarm coffee left at the bottom of my coffee pot, after I’d downed my morning’s caffeine fix. It seemed like a shame to throw it down the drain, but at the same time, what do you do with half a cup or a cup of coffee? You know, that cup that no one takes at a gathering because they don’t want to be rude and finish it off, or because they want to avoid the dregs?

Lately, I’ve been looking at my lifestyle, looking for places to cut the spending, to live more responsibly. Where it comes to my coffee habit, I spend entirely too much money and calories at local coffee houses. Heck, my favourite one knows me by name. Now, I’m all for supporting local, but that stuff gets expensive! Three dollars for an Americano? Really? And then a tip on top of that? You do know that most of your baristas come backed with a B.A. in Philosophy or English and have to pay off their student loans, right? And I know enough about coffee not to be able to stomach the cheap stuff. Drinking Tim Horton’s is like sacrilege. And Starbucks? Why not just burn those beans a little more for me, then it’ll taste even more like char. But I digress.

During the summer, I’m a sucker for those cold iced frappes. And add a bit of chocolate to it? I’m in heaven. But once again, it’s easy to spend five bucks on your drink.

As I started at that last bit of coffee in my coffee pot, inspiration struck. I grabbed out a ice cube tray and poured in the coffee. Then I threw it in the freezer. This morning, I was craving a pre-lunch snack, and was also feeling a little warm. So, I didn’t what any specialty coffee loving person would do. I pulled half a dozen cubes from the freezer, threw them in my food processor with 2 tbsp reduced sugar chocolate milk mix, and added half a cup Silk Coconut Milk. On the whole I find that Silk’s milk alternative run a little too thick for my liking, but in something like a frappe, it works a charm.

After whizzing that together for a minute or so, I had a lovely morning mix, that cost me cents, not dollars. And the best part is, I didn’t have to say, “I’ll have a tall, almond milk, half sweet, skinny, no whip, mocha frappe please.” 

Leave a Reply

