Refuse to be Passive

The time suck

In Uncategorized on March 30, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Today, someone I greatly respect said something that will stick with me for days to come. He said this, “If you don’t have enough time in the day to get all that you need to get done, odds are you are doing something that you shouldn’t be.” 

How often don’t we get to the end of the day and say, “There just aren’t enough hours!” And yet, how often on that same day did we spend time plugged into Facebook or staring at the TV?

A couple of months ago, I chose to to get rid of the internet at my apartment. Prior to that I had gotten rid of my TV. Now, when people find out that I go to a library or the coffee shop to access internet, and that TV for me is a thing of the past, they look at me like I’ve grown two heads. 

But in light of the words that opened this post, I am convinced that I’ve made the right decision. Technology is beneficial in many ways, but it is important to recognize that power that it can hold over us. 

Today, I was at a friend’s place for tea, and a call came in on his cell phone. He looked at the phone, looked at me, and said, “Do you mind if I take this?”

Quite frankly, I was shocked that he even asked. And if I said, “Yes, I mind.” I’m certain he would have hit the ignore button and sent the person to voicemail. But it isn’t always so.

I’ve had it in the past where people have not asked permission before picking up the phone. Or more likely, they’ll text while visiting. The latter is something that drives me nuts. What are you saying to the person that you’re with when you’re texting while out for coffee? What you’re saying is, “You’re not really worth my time.” It’s insulting. It’s the equivalent to whispering to one person, so the other across the table can’t hear you. Yes, then you definitely feel wanted.

Have you ever been in a room where all the people are using some form of technology, but none of them are interacting? How does this effect the relationships of those people with each other?

Are we worshiping technology by letting it constantly distract us from the things which we should be doing? Is it sapping your days, leaving you with a panicky feeling as you go to bed that not everything got done? Is it replacing the time you would spend in devotions, developing your relationship with God? 

Just a few questions to leave you with as we go to celebrate Easter. Take the time to create a Sabbath this Easter, and rest from your media. Take time to remember the true reason for this long weekend. Christ’s death and resurrection resulting in salvation. Makes your Twitter updates look pretty pathetic in comparison, no?

Leave a Reply

