Refuse to be Passive

Coming Down With Something

In Uncategorized on November 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

I’m not hungry. I feel like it’s twenty degrees hotter in my apartment than it really is. I have a headache. My muscles are stiff and sore. I must be getting sick. I hate feeling sick on Sundays, particularly when you don’t feel like you’re sick enough to skip church, but you’re definitely sick enough to not get much out of church. Beyond that, I question whether forcing myself to go to church is a good idea, or if I’ll spread whatever it is I have to those around me.

Today is really not a good day to be sick– church in the morning, post-church lunch, an afternoon of games, and the children’s Christmas pageant in the evening. I’ll feel guilty if I don’t go to any of these, and I do want to go. But I can’t simply choose to do one or two things and not the others. If I can justify one, then I should be able to do them all, right? I’ve always heard that you’re only contagious within the first three or four days of being sick. I don’t know if that’s true, but if it is, then isn’t it the right decision to stay away from the general public?

Part of me wonders if I didn’t bring this upon myself with too many late nights. Since finishing my last job I’ve been taking a week of vacation time, and it’s amazing how quickly my schedule has gone out the window. I need to get back on track. Being sick doesn’t help with that, even if it’s not a super sick, but is a I might be coming down with something sick.

I need to get back to doing quality stuff with my time, not just wasting my time on historical fiction books and the internet. I can do that tomorrow maybe, assuming that I get better and not worse. As for now, I don’t know what to do. Church starts in twenty minutes. I was hoping to chat with the pastor today about starting a Young Adults ministry. Maybe that will have to wait for another week– no two– next Sunday I’m in Banff. Hmm…the timing of this just seems really poor.

Leave a Reply

