Refuse to be Passive

A Creative Global Thinker’s Crazy Resume

In Life in General on October 18, 2012 at 7:01 pm

I adored my grade two teacher. Not only was she kind, she had an exotic life. In fact, just before becoming my homeroom teacher, she took a sabbatical and spent a year in Australia. In grade two, I was certain I wanted to grow up to be a teacher.

By the time I went to university, my desire to become a teacher was long gone. I enrolled in a business program at a liberal arts university halfway across the country. I was going to take my degree and then open my own wig shop. Yes, you heard that right, a wig shop.

Somewhere during that first semester of business classes I changed my major. My professor made the classes tiresome and tedious. I got decent grades, but my heart wasn’t in what I was studying.

So I did what any business major with good job prospects upon graduation would do, I switched to a degree in English Literature. And remember, I didn’t want to be a teacher. At this time, I decided that maybe editing and publication was the route for me.

Once I got out of university, I started working at a desk job. While it was a good job and I worked with nice people, I didn’t love my job. In fact, my days dragged by. It was around this time that I discovered that I am a global thinker and an ideas person. That didn’t combine well with a job that was primarily administrative.

Also at that time I fell in love with cooking. It was my main hobby when I was away from work. To that extent, I decided that maybe my true love was cooking. I wanted to be my own boss and start a business as a personal chef. Before that though, I thought formal training might be in order. So, once again I trekked halfway across the country to take a Culinary Arts Management Diploma. I love school and was certain that I was on the right track. But once I got out of school and into the workforce, I found the details of day-to-day work to be tedious and frustrating.

Now, I’m 27, and the future that seemed so assured when I was seven, had become as a dream. Just today I was at work—I’m back at an office job right now—I was hit with an “ahah!” moment. It was one of those moments when you wonder, “Why has it taken me so long to figure this out?” I had taken a test online over my lunch break to see how I compared to other entrepreneurs—to see if I really had what it took to be my own boss. You know what I discovered? I scored below average in the majority of areas, with a few making the median, and one aspect in particular skyrocketing above the rest. You know what that one aspect was? It was creativity.

Now, I’m not one to want to do graphic design. As I said, I’m a global thinker, the nitpicky doesn’t do it for me. I can do the details, but would prefer to be looking at the big picture, the meta-narrative as it is. I do not want to be my own boss. I don’t want to have to deal with the paperwork and red tape of the government, or the details that go into making a business a success. I am an ideas person. You need a grand concept? I can do that. You want me to order toner? Well, I can do that too, but you certainly won’t see the same level of enthusiasm. So that leaves me asking the same questions that I’ve asked for years: What do I do with my life? Is there actually a career out there where my strengths would allow me to thrive? And if so, what is it and how do I get there?

And no, none of my past training has been in vain. Of that I am certain. With everything I learn, I grow more as a person. There is a purpose to all this, and someday I will look back on this crazy journey and see the interlocking of seemingly unrelated pieces to create a whole—my meta-narrative.

Leave a Reply

