Refuse to be Passive

Rules and Regimes– Life Control, I suck at it.

In Uncategorized on October 5, 2012 at 8:05 pm

People always stress the importance of creating routines for children. There a rules and guidelines that we enforce for them, to ensure they grow up to be responsible adults. Isn’t it funny then, that we allow ourselves to do things we would never let out children do? For example, any child who snuck half a box of cookies and then felt ill would be in trouble from his or her parents. However, if the parent does that, there are no ramifications. I remember getting annoyed at the little boy I used to live with who snuck six Oreos before breakfast one day. What a hypocrite! I can remember a time when I ate an entire package over the course of the evening! Why is it that it is so easy to justify certain things for ourselves that we would judge others harshly for? Why do children need routine and discipline, but adults feel that they can live life laissez faire? It simply doesn’t make much sense. After an entire evening of noshing, I am feeling a little ill this evening, and am starting to believe that I should be seeing a counsellor in regards to my relationship with food. It is seriously unhealthy. But at the same time, I’m starting to think that there may be value in routine for me, just as there is for children. I need to start a new routine. That’s never easy. I’m often good at a new routine for a couple of days, but then the old way of life sets back in again and I find myself back at square one. It is incredibly frustrating. I want to go see the dietician at the hospital, in hopes that she might help me get a solid start. The snag in this concept is that her office hours are always while I’m at work. I’m fairly new at my job, and I don’t feel I can start taking an hour off every week to go see the dietician. What to do, what to do?

Leave a Reply

