Refuse to be Passive

Low-Fat Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

In Uncategorized on August 9, 2012 at 5:01 pm

 It’s only August, but I’m already looking forward to the flavours of fall– flavours that remind me of joyful weekends at the pumpkin patch with cousins, the burnished orange of changing leaves, along with the brilliants golds and deep reds. I bask in those weeks each year. This year I seem to be jumping the gun a bit. Yesterday I had a friend over for breakfast and I made pumpkin waffles. They were good, but left me with quite a bit of pumpkin puree left over in the fridge.

When I got up this morning I had no intention of baking, but somehow the desire to bake snuck up on me and I found myself looking in my recipe books. I knew that I had leftover bananas in the freezer that my roommate and I had discussed turning into pancakes, but as she was off to work already, I thought I might make some muffins with a few of them. Then I remembered the pumpkin. The bananas that I had recently removed from the freezer found their way back into the icy box. Pumpkin trumps banana any day in my book. I was still staring at my banana bread recipe, wondering if I could tweak it to fit pumpkin. The thing is, I would up tweaking the recipe so much that there is no way you could ever link the pumpkin muffin recipe to the banana bread recipe beyond the fact that they both contain flour and rising agents.

Lately I’ve taken to making things vegan whenever possible. It’s not that I am vegan, I simply appreciate giving myself that extra little challenge. Although in all truth, baking vegan is no big feat for me anymore. Now, ask me to do a bit of vegan, gluten-free baking and the challenge returns. I’m mostly intimidated by gluten-free baking due to the fact that non-wheat flours result in different textures in a final product, and these alternate flours can be quite costly, especially when you live in a small mountain town with only one supplier of that style of product. But I digress.

Every time I make a new vegan recipe, I think of my friend Jen, who lives in Toronto. I miss her more than I ever expected to when I headed back out west. I know that she will be thrilled to receive this recipe. And have I mentioned that it’s low in fat? For those of you counting calories, you’re looking at roughly 200 calories per muffin, 4 Weight Watchers Points Plus.

Now some of you may be scoffing at the fact that I’m about to print a low-fat vegan recipe. Try these, and you might have to eat your words, along with the muffins.

 

Low-Fat Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

 

1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup almond milk (regular works fine too)

1/4 cup water

3/4 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup icing sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

 

Whisk together in medium bowl. Set aside.

 Image

1/4 cup quick cooking oats

1/2 cup AP flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tbsp egg replacer

1/8 tsp ginger

1/8 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

 

In separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Stir into wet, just until combined.

Split batter into greased muffin tins. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 Image

Remove from oven, cool, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

