Refuse to be Passive

Ngi Ne Themba

In Life in General on March 10, 2012 at 6:47 pm

The past couple of months I’ve been struggling with stress and exhaustion which has led to some depression. For the past few weeks I’ve been an emotional mess. I’ve stopped caring about what I eat, and my weight has quickly ballooned. I’ve been in a bad place emotionally, physically, and spiritually. Today I was reading a friend’s post on Facebook about choosing your attitude, to which I responded that in general that may be true, but some days just suck. She said that as long as that only happens occasionally and not consistently  that’s fine, but we still have a choice. If it’s happening consistently we have bigger problems.

Then, this evening I was at dinner and I was chatting with a woman who is still on Weight Watchers– something I’ve basically given up on while I’ve been depressed. There’s no point in standing on the scale and making it worse. Anyway, she gave me hope for the future. Evening is usually the worst time of day for me, and yet this evening ngi ne themba. That’s Zulu for “I have hope.” I’ve forgotten the truth of life, and that’s that for every problem you face, the solution is found in you. So tonight I’ll enjoy a bath, read a book, and go to bed on time. Tomorrow, I’ll get up and seize the day with hope. I’ll start making the changes that will bring about the change that I want to see. At the end of the day, only you have the power to change your life and anything is possible. To quote one of my favorite songs, “What if old Ben Franklin would have been frightened by lightning? If he would have stayed inside then we’d still be in the dark.” Well I for one refuse to let darkness rule.

Leave a Reply

