Refuse to be Passive

Schedules or lack there of

In Life in General on March 5, 2012 at 10:10 pm
I stood up to get out of the bath. Water dripped from my hair. I glanced in the mirror at my body and noticed the changes that three months of poor eating had brought about. My first thought was, “I’m starting to look like a fertility idol.” Unfortunately, the fertility idol I was thinking of was this one:
I seem to have been born in the wrong era. I live in the era of thin– not to mention that fertility isn’t high on my priority list right now. Thankfully I was able to follow that thought up with a smile.My thighs have become thick and are rubbing together again, my waist is beginning to disappear into one single mass of a torso. It’s not something I’m proud of, but it is where I am at. I’ve been spending less time exercising, more time at school, and more time indulging in foods that I can’t even pretend to be proud of consuming. But, as I was commenting to one of the female chefs at school, tomorrow is another day. 
And tomorrow really is another day.
This evening I was reading about living a life of contemplation, and one thing I noticed was that my days have very little structure aside from the fact that I have to be at school for four hours per day during the week. Usually that’s from 11:30-3:30, but tomorrow it will be 10 until we’re finished, and the next day is likely to be 7:30 until 3pm. There is really little rhyme or reason to my days, and I think that makes it harder to live an intentional life. So, I’m aiming to add more structure. How that is going to work, I’m not yet sure, particularly because I’m working on recipe development for a number of competitions, which gives me extra hours at school, but with little concept of how many extra hours. But here is what I am currently thinking.
I will aim to give myself one hour to get ready for school each morning. I will also get up an additional 30 minutes early to allow for time of reflection and contemplation. I will walk to school if the weather is suitable (which will take roughly another hour). That means that on the average day with no extras, I need to be up by 9am, but the kids will have me awake by 6:30 or 7. But if I have nothing else on the go in the morning, I’ll aim to hit the pool and swim for 45 minutes.
After school, I’ll head to the gym for an hour of strength training on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. Monday evenings I cook and Fridays tend to be days I have baking to bring home with me.
Evenings when I am at home (so not Wednesday), I will aim to spend until 8pm in community time. After that, it’s homework, and bed by 9:30, with time for devotions. Asleep by 10:30. I have to stay rested to avoid overeating. The community aspect can be a real struggle for me at the end of the day as I wind up getting a  bit surly with those who appear inconsiderate, or children who are just too darn loud. I love the kids in my community, but the little boy in my house is loud from the time he gets up to the time he goes to bed.
On Weekends, I’ll spend my Saturday mornings at the coffee shop with my laptop, writing. I think that’s something I’ll really enjoy, and it will get my day started off on the right foot. From there I may head to the library and do a bit of reading. I don’t enjoy reading at home terribly much, and it’s not yet nice enough to go and read out on the lakeshore. Sundays will consist of church in the morning, followed up by reading or exercise, and then time spent with community, finishing with time in contemplation.
That’s the thought for now, although I am great at making plans, but my follow-through tends to need a bit of work. Ah well. C’est la vie. For now, I implement my plan by going to sleep.
Leave a Reply

