Refuse to be Passive

Pushing Through

In Life in General on February 28, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Some days it’s just about pushing forward, pushing through. I moved through today, one task flowing into another. I was in the kitchen in some form or another from 9:30 to 6:30. It’s hard to believe that it is only 9 hours and that soon I will call that a standard workday. The day is a bit of a haze. School is rather clearn—duck confit, recipe development for pork and apple pie bites—but the streetcar ride home is a haze, and I barely remember eating at dinner. Motions become mechanical.  I’m ready for bed, even though it’s only 8:30. I know that there’s still homework to be done though. Typing up recipes and methods before the things I learned today fly out my head. I overcooked the duck breast. I’m really horrible at gauging the doneness of meat. I always seem to overcook the most beautiful cuts of meat. That being said, the recipe we followed had a marinade that made the meat overly salty, so at least I’m not wholly to blame. That being said, it was rather delicious. After all, confit really means poached in fat.

Tomorrow I once again go in to school early, as I’ll be doing for the rest of the week. Recipe development is a time sapping endeavour. Which reminds me, I need to pick up frozen currents to come up with a sauce, gastrique, or chutney to put with the pork and pear bites, as they’re a little on the dry side. Then, once school is done I’ve got my first of two free training sessions with a personal trainer.

My fitness assessment was done yesterday, and I rated  a 2/5 across the board for fitness level. The hour and a half I had in my fitness assessment taught me many things, including the fact that I was never taught how to do a proper push-up, squat, or plank. And here I thought those were things I had down pat. Thankfully, Sven, the built black man doing my assessment, never made me feel uncomfortable or like a failure. He was constantly encouraging and an all-around lovely guy. He’s the type of trainer who makes you think that maybe the gym doesn’t have to be a daunting place. Sadly, he was only assigned to my fitness assessment and tomorrow I will be getting a different trainer. Hopefully she’s lovely as well. She was described to me as “a ball of sunshine.” As long as she’s not so perky that she’s annoying.  After my session I’ll undoubtedly spend a good bit of time in the steam room. It’s a lovely room, and both times I’ve used it thus far, I’ve had it all to myself.

Once I leave the gym, I’ll be heading to home church—my small group. I missed church both this week and last week due to an inability to make myself leave the house. But, things are getting a bit better, and while I may have missed the sermon, I don’t want to miss the Bible study. Goodness knows that I’m in a back slide as far as my spiritual life goes. Just the thought of reading my Bible makes me want to sleep. I also don’t have any good commentaries or reflections to read on faith. The last book I read on faith I didn’t finish, but it was….darn, I can’t even remember the name of it. It was by John Piper and I only got through chapter three before having to return it. I wish I could rediscover Kathleen Norris for the first time. I really did love reading her reflections on faith.

And then I’ll head home on the streetcar, hit the hay,  and then the next day, push through again.

Leave a Reply

