Refuse to be Passive

Ditching the Laptop — Unintentionally, of course

In Uncategorized on February 11, 2012 at 1:09 pm

After making the post about longing for a simpler life, something rather amazing and disturbing happened to me. The hard drive on my laptop died. It went kaput. And while the repair person is hopeful the information can be saved, between getting the hard drive replaced, getting a new AC adapter cable, and replacing the battery, I might as well get myself a new laptop. But then I start to wonder something truly disturbing:

Do I even want a new laptop?

That’s right. Those very words ran through my head, and not only did they run through my head, they seem to be stuck on repeat. Do I want a new laptop? Do I really want a new laptop? What would life look like without a laptop or desktop computer? I’ve held off on getting an iPhone or a Blackberry. I’ve still got my old Samsung flip phone. I used to have a phone with a keyboard, but it died and so I switched over to my flip phone backup. Now I almost never text, and I don’t miss it. Would that happen with my laptop as well? Would my lack of a laptop eventually become the norm? Would I cease to miss it as I got used to frequenting the library and spending time at the local internet cafe? These thoughts keep surfacing in my brain.

What would change without a laptop? No downloaded or streamed TV programs. No way to check my e-mail at home. No way to do my online banking at home. No way to waste time on Facebook at home. No way to blog at home. My journaling would cease to be typed and I’d be forced to pick up a pen and write in cursive. My journal entries would be more insightful and less verbal mess. Strangely enough, none of these concepts scare me. In fact, many of them sound downright attractive, such as a lack of ability to stream TV episodes and to have only intentional access to Facebook. But then there is that one niggling concern that just won’t go away. What will I do without being able to access recipes online!? I’ll have to go back to cookbooks, with no user ratings or comments to guarantee a quality product the first time! It would be a culinary disaster! Okay, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic, but maybe not. It would be the equivalent of the fall of the Roman Empire and the lapse into the Dark Ages. Easy access to digital recipes would be replaced by words written on a page. I’d have to test and tweak myself. Oh goodness. Not that I don’t do that anyway, but now I’d have to do truly substantial tweaking. And what if my theme is Jamaican and I don’t have access to any Jamaican recipes? Oh wait, then I walk up to the library and print some off.

One thing is for certain, lacking a laptop would create yet another need to live life more intentionally. To slow down and think things through. I’m still not sure how I feel about this, so for now I’ll keep mulling it over.

Leave a Reply

