Refuse to be Passive

Dim Sum and an English Winter

In Uncategorized on January 17, 2012 at 7:42 am

It’s the middle of January, it’s 3 degrees outside, and the birds are chirpping. What little snow was on the ground is quickly melting away, and occasional drops of water are falling from the sky. After two days of sunshine we’re back to the overcast, but I’m not complaining. Granted, overcast weather tends to make one a little blue, but a great pick me up is knowing that back home they his a low of -43C. The winter here is more like an English winter. The lack of cold and snow makes up for the lack of sunlight– at least for a few days.

And then there is the fact that yesterday I had Dim Sum for the first time! What a fun experience, especially when there are eight of you crowded around a table. And while many of the items I had eaten before, there were a few new things for me to try. I did two personal firsts– chicken feet and gingered beef tripe. I’d been telling people I wanted to experiment with tripe, so when an opportunity arose for me to eat it, then I figured, I can’t be a hypocrite, now can I? The tripe was not bad, but not something I’d probably eat on a regular basis, and the chicken feet were gristley.

Leave a Reply

