Refuse to be Passive

Brithday Resolutions

In Life in General on December 19, 2011 at 9:55 am

Strangely enough, New Year’s resolutions rarely coincide with New Year’s. Usually it comes a couple of weeks earlier on my birthday, which happens to be today. And although it’s only 10:43, my resolutions are already popping into my head.

This past year I haven’t been reading as much as I have in the past, and I miss it. So, my first resolution is to read more. But how does one read more without withdrawing from something else? As such, I have decided to make a drastic change in my life. I am withdrawing from watching TV. Granted, I haven’t owned a TV for quite a while– a number of years, actually. But what with online episodes, I definitely watch more TV than is healthy. Watching all that TV has also lead to some unhealthy snacking habits. So, in the name of health and books, I am going to launch into an experiment. Are you ready for it?

A year without TV and movies.

That’s right. One year. Movies will only be watched in theatre or at another person’s home, and in groups. TV is out. I don’t need to live vicariously through TV characters. Firstly, all that down time makes me lethargic. Secondly, the exciting lives of TV characters also makes me disenchanted with my own life. And you want to know something? There is absolutely nothing wrong with my life or who I am. And my life could be so much more than it already is without TV sapping away my time.

This is a big decision and there is lots of room for failure. But even more than the potential for failure comes the potential for success. What will life look like if I stop watching TV? Let’s assume that I currently watch one, 45 minute episode of TV per day. For most people, that would be a fairly limited amount. That’s roughly 5.5 per week, which works out to 21 hours per month. That’s almost one day! Turn that into a year, and that’s 273 hours, which is 11.3 days.

That number totals a week and a half. What could I do with an extra week and a half? Even if it’s just reading books, that’s a goodly number of books. What would you do with an extra week and a half?

Feel free to support me on this year long endeavor. It’s not going to be easy, but it’s something I want to do. Goodbye Castle, goodbye Rookie Blue, goodbye The Listener, goodbye Drop Dead Diva. I’ll miss you all terribly– for about a week. Then I’ll forget you ever existed, kind of like Bones.

Day One starts right now!

Leave a Reply

