Refuse to be Passive

Back at the gym

In Uncategorized on November 29, 2011 at 9:30 pm

I was reading an article on yahoo.ca last week that cited a study that reported the top three times in which people were happiest. Not surprising, sex came in as one, but the other two times were rather interesting. One of them was when they were going to the theater– like to a play or the ballet. After thinking about it for a while, I came to agree that some of my happiest memories have been at the theater. But the last on their list was when people are exercising.

Now, some of you may scoff at that concept. Maybe you see the gym as a modern form of torture that will eventually be looked back upon by future generations in a similar way to how we view gladiators. I wasn’t sure I agreed about that being a time in which I was happiest. After all, how much fun is it to have your abs screaming at you while your fitness instructor is telling you to squeeze out five more reps? However, I think that I now agree with the article I read last week.

After obtaining a two month membership at a local gym for $40, including classes, I’ve started going to the gym again. My first day back was like letting go after holding my breath for too long. It was rejuvenating. The next day I attended a fitness class, and believe me, my abs did scream. But I still loved it. And the next day I attended a Zumba class. While I am less than graceful and often screwed up the moves, it was still a lot of fun. I certainly didn’t expect to discover that I’d missed going to the gym and working out so much.
I have a theory as to why people are happiest at the gym. It’s because they are actively engaging in their goals towards self improvement. Anytime you put a plan into action and begin to see results, it’s a fabulous feeling. And the endorphins that exercise gives you doesn’t hurt either.
Regardless of whether my above theory holds any water, I’m back at it and it feels great. Maybe I’m a slight bit of a masochist, or maybe the article was right, and the gym really is a happy place.

Leave a Reply

