Refuse to be Passive

Character Sketch– Quirky and Clever

In Uncategorized on November 26, 2011 at 1:26 pm

He’s shorter than I am. I can’t help it. It’s the first thing I notice in men who are in my relative age range. He’s not much shorter, maybe an inch or two. He’s got olive tone Mediterranean skin, with short cropped, dark brown, nearly black hair. His eyes match his hair– that deep brown. And he, like so many other people from the Mediterranean, needs to shave on a regular basis to keep from looking like a biblical nomad. Thankfully he doesn’t dress in shepherd’s robes.

In some ways he reminds me of a friend back home, not in looks, but personality. He’s got an easy going, laid-back demeanor that pairs well with humour. He’s an excellent story teller. This morning he was over at our place, doing his laundry. While he was waiting for the washer and dryer to do their thing, we hung out and I made a batch of ginger cookies. When one batch burnt, I got rather frustrated with the cookware in the kitchen. Rather than saying something like, “It’s okay” he told me it was completely understandable that I’d be frustrated. I don’t know why, but this wasn’t the response I’d expected. It was refreshing. Beyond that, he knows crazy, quirky facts. He knows greek mythology, quotes from people I’ve never heard of, and often references the psychological implications of certain situations or items. For example, he was telling me about how Disney stories often taught bad morals. For example, what the Little Mermaid teaches is that sometimes it’s okay to make pacts with evil witches, as it will all work out in the end. In Beauty and the Beast, it teaches that it’s okay to be with an abusive significant other. He thinks about life in a way that is significantly different from your average joe. Maybe that’s just because he truly does thing. He contemplates and reflects. It’s refreshing to be around him. You don’t know anyone else quite like him. He’s friendly and personable. Everyone likes him, but his quirks define him. The other night I was holding one of the babies from the community while being in the kitchen prior to dinner. He walked in an said, ” Hey baby…oh, and you too Maria.” Just clever. And then there are the accents. I think he missed his calling as an actor, because he’s got them all. Actually, he’s done a fair bit of drama in the past. With a personality like that, who wouldn’t?

Leave a Reply

