Refuse to be Passive

Quick Update

In Uncategorized on November 23, 2011 at 11:37 pm

I’ve been living in Toronto for four months now. Sadly, I must confess that apart from school, I’ve done little to get involved and make the city my own. Sure, when the weather was nice I’d wander home via different avenues from school and admire the architecture, but really, I didn’t do anything to build community. Church happened on Sundays when I didn’t have to work in the morning. Then I was sick for a number of weeks and didn’t even do that. Now that I’m finally nearly over my cold, with only a bit of a cough remaining, I’ve run out of excuses to sit in my room and waste time clicking away on my laptop.

This morning I was looking at myself in the mirror and bemoaned the lack of definition in my shoulders and stomach. It’s become increasingly obvious that I now bike, but do no other form of physical activity. Thankfully, I’ve recently discovered that fitness passes to the city arenas/pools are not so expensive as I’d thought. As such, I’ve been spending much of tonight researching different locations and what they have to offer and at what price. So, tomorrow, after class and a lovely lunch for Chef of the Day, I intend to do a few errands, fill out a few forms, and then head for a bit of swimming! It will undoubtedly be both brilliant and depressing. Brilliant in that it will feel great to get in the water again. Depressing in that I’ll be impressed if I can pull off 500 m in the 45 minutes I’ll have in the pool. Beyond, fitness, I’ll also be attending my first home church– a weekly bible study held at a church members house where we sit and discuss the message from Sunday, as well as spending some time just getting to know one another and catch up. There are numerous home churches throughout the GTA, so if the one tomorrow turns out to be a bit of a drag or doesn’t really fit with me and my lifestyle, I can always try another one next week. I’m dreading my Weight Watchers meeting tomorrow, as I’ve just had a total week of denial and have been eating like crap, but now I’m feeling increasingly optimistic. And fingers crossed, I’ll even sign up for some volleyball come the new year.. Praise God for small mercies and that tomorrow is a new day, with no mistakes in it….yet.

Leave a Reply

