Refuse to be Passive

Stress Eating and Stepping Back

In Life in General on October 21, 2011 at 8:10 am

I re-discovered something last night. When I’m stressed, I eat. Last night I was supposed to teach a cooking class and no students showed up. I broke into the bag of chocolate chips that were supposed to be for baking. Then, after my second class, which went relatively well, with five pupils, I went home and proceeded to chow down– still working off the stress from earlier that evening. Beyond that, the past year I’ve been so focused on tracking what I eat, that I’ve forgotten to pay attention to when I am hungry. I’ll eat little amounts of food throughout the day and then lose it in the evening. I have no issue writing about this because I know that this is a problem that a large percentage of women in North America face. So that being said, I’ve decided to practice portion control and pay attention to my hunger signals. I’m going to try it for one month, still continuing to weigh in weekly at my Weight Watchers meetings. One month is the bare minimum to see if this could be a permanent solution. One week or even two cannot give accurate results. That being said, I’m a little nervous that this will lead to more weight gain than one would desire. But on the other hand, I can lose it again. If there’s one thing I’ve discovered, it’s that weight loss is easier than weight maintenance.

Beyond that, I’m also stepping back from myself a bit. I’m going to do my best to keep from going nuts by taking things slowly and thinking them through. If it’s not my place to stress about something, I won’t. And when I do stress, I’ll take the time to recognize it and then find a healthy way of dealing with that stress. Maybe I’ll take up jogging again. I’d go to the gym, but memberships in Toronto are either stupidly expensive, or the gyms are far enough away that I wouldn’t actually go if I did obtain a membership– like at the YMCA.

Today I head off to the Delicious Food Festival to volunteer for the afternoon with my culinary class. Because we don’t start until noon, I’m having issues remembering that it’s Friday and not Saturday. Tomorrow I’m hoping to volunteer at the festival as well. It should be a good opportunity to get some exposure to the industry and maybe do a bit of networking.

My room is clean for the first time in weeks and it feels good. I’ve been dreading doing it because of my lack of storage space and the crappy broom I have to use for sweeping– and lets not forget the beaucoup de papier that I seem to accumulate. Where does it all come from?! I’m sorry for the forests we chop down and abuse so. So much paper. From cups, to sheets, to books, to pamphlets and flyers, we just can’t seem to get away from it. Although the books I’m not sure I’d want to get away from. To be honest though, there are many books that are not worth the paper they’re written on and I feel sorry for the person who spent so much time writing so much junk. Ah well, it’s the way of the world. The best way to support good literature is to read it.

Anyway, I have a cup of tea waiting and book to read. I’m off to the poppadom chair!

Leave a Reply

