Refuse to be Passive

Tired, So Tired– and Chocolately Fudge Icing

In Food, Life in General on October 4, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Today I have been dragging. I actually sat in a chair and did nothing but stare into space for almost a half hour. For some people this may be considered normal. For me it is not. If I’m not up to something then I’m bored or sleeping. I think it’s part of the reason I spend so much time in the kitchen. It’s a great way to spend your time without having to put in any form of consistent day-to-day commitment. That being said, tomorrow afternoon is devoted to baking! I’m making fudgy chocolate brownies, coconut pineapple bars, and pumpkin cupcakes for a coffeehouse I’m involved in the next evening. I agreed to do the deserts and apparently they’re thinking a dozen of three different varieties will be enough. I hope we get a good turnout for the coffeehouse as it is a fundraiser. That would be fantastic! But for now, I’m just plain old tired. It’s taking all I’ve got not to sack out right now at 8:24pm. Must keep eyes open.

Oh, but I did make a great icing for the brownies tonight:

 

3 Tbsp cocoa powder

3 Tbsp melted butter

1 Tbsp corn syrup

1/2 cup icing sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbsp milk

Combine dry ingredients and sift. Cocoa tends to be lumpy. Once sifted, mix in butter, corn syrup and vanilla. Add milk a bit at a time, mixing until smooth and desired consistency is reached.  I did this all with a fork and came out with a light, creamy icing. It’s really quite lovely.

Leave a Reply

