Refuse to be Passive

Brilliant? Mean? A Little of Both?

In Uncategorized on October 3, 2011 at 8:01 pm

This evening I was struck by an idea that can be called nothing other than brilliant. Actually, it could probably also be called self serving, greedy, and maybe even a little mean.

The people I live with tend to look in the fridge with their eyes, as most of us do. As a result, they’re always rummaging for something new, rather than checking containers for leftovers and things that need to be used up. Because of this, peppers I’ve intended for salads or strawberries I’d just bought for the next morning’s breakfast are gobbled up before I get a chance to have any of them. The thing about that is that often these new bits I buy are intended to help use up the leftovers in the fridge everyone else glosses over. This is a technique I learned from my mother. I never knew it could be so frustrating to have someone munch down part of what you’d planned on serving for dinner! To my mother, my apologies I did this to you. It’s rather aggravating.

So, what is to be done about people munching on the new stuff before finishing the old– particularly if it’s something rather popular such as strawberries? Here’s my solution. Are you ready for it?

Turn them into leftovers.

What? What does that mean, you might ask? Well let me tell you. This evening I took all the fruit I’d bought in the past two days– blackberries, grapes, and strawberries. I washed them, prepped them, and then put them into what I call “dutch tupperware” aka old yogurt containers. People see the containers, think “leftovers” and never even both to check and see what is in them. As a result, I maintain my fruit stash, or whatever other food stash I’m aiming at protecting until it can arrive at its intended use.

Once again I ask, brilliant? Mean? Or maybe just a little bit of both.

Leave a Reply

