Refuse to be Passive

Writing, not blogging

In Uncategorized on October 2, 2011 at 7:05 pm

I should start writing again, and I don’t just mean blogging. In university I took a number of creative writing courses and learned to really love writing. I learned to love intentional writing, good word choice, proper grammar, and all that good writing entails. If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you’ll notice that much of that passion has gone out the window. I even use cliche phrases on a regular basis. Its actually to the point where I’m beginning to wonder if I could still write something decent. I had an excellent professor who truly believed that if it was what I wanted, I could do it successfully. He did warn me, however, that writing is not easy and that it would take dedication. He told me I should write daily, keep a routine. Always write at the same time. Whether it was good or crap, whether I was in the mood or just wanting to be somewhere else, it was important to write. Maybe I’ll take up writing again. Being a culinary student is fantastic, but when all you do both at school and at home is cook, it’s time to pick up another hobby. I’d go and take a dance class or something, but currently funds are lacking, so writing seems like a good option. But to get into the habit of writing is like getting into the habit of going to the gym or not eating after 8 pm. It’s slightly painful and takes work and intentionality. I’m not even sure that last word is a word. Ah well. Here are my random thoughts. Watch out for my book! If I take after Lewis, it will be out in less than a month. Tolkien? Well, you’ll be lucky if you ever see it. Or maybe you’d then be unlucky…

Leave a Reply

