Refuse to be Passive

Turning of the Seasons

In Uncategorized on September 30, 2011 at 10:53 pm

It’s 12:43 am. I’m still awake. Actually, it feels early considering I was expecting to close at work tonight. Due to inclement weather, however, things were rather slow, and so they let me off shortly before midnight, rather than at 1:30. I’m not complaining. I like sleep.

When I exited the restaurant to go home for the night I was greeted with a blast of cold air. Somehow, in the course of six hours, it had gone from being a lovely Indian Summer style day to a full on autumn evening. The Nutella latte that had so recently warmed me had no staying power against the chill of the night. The breeze held no warmth. As I biked through the darkness, watching carefully for aggressive taxi drivers and slightly drunk pedestrians, I couldn’t help but notice that despite my hoodie and jeans, I was still cold. Despite biking up the hills that normally made me sweat, the burning in my legs did not warm me. It was a slightly sad moment for me. It was the goodbye to summer and hello to true autumn.

Don’t get me wrong, I love autumn. Today I saw my first purple tree and noticed that more of the greens were turning into golden hues; more leaves rustled along the ground. It’s also a time for pumpkin apple oatmeal and cinnamon spice tea. It’s just a shame that this, my favourite season, is closely followed by my least favoured season. While normally I choose not to dwell on that, the air buffeting me this evening made it a hard fact to ignore. There is a time for everything, even the turning of the seasons. If this weather keeps up I’ll have to break out the gloves sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

