Refuse to be Passive

A Moment of Silence

In Life in General, Uncategorized on September 28, 2011 at 7:10 pm

This afternoon I had a moment of silence. I marveled at the quiet, and the fact that even though I was the only one home, it actually wasn’t quite quiet. There were cars passing on the street, the hum of the refrigerator, the slow breathing of the dog, laying on the couch. And yet, it was silent and peaceful– or at least close enough to it. Moments like these are far too rare to not bask in. I stopped what I was doing and just sat. I wasn’t eating, or reading, or drinking anything. I just basked in the silence.

Silence used to be part of a normal day for me. I lived on my own and quiet time was sometimes in such abundance that it began to feel oppressive. Now silence is such a rarity that if it took on a colour, it truly would be golden. And not that plated gold either, I mean quality gold.

Time has passed since my quiet moment this afternoon. As expected, chaos erupted over dinner. The kids had a bunch of energy, and an extra family of people swelled our numbers to 17 from our already large 13. It gave us a grand total of 6 kids under 10. Talk about a full house! Thankfully I had used three pounds of meat to make meatloaf, rather than my initial intention of two. Also, I’d baked three loaves of bread earlier that day. I had no intention of cutting into them over dinner, but what a life saver! There’s a little less than one loaf left. Fresh baked bread is always a popular option. Granted, my meatloaf was no slouch either! Nor was the rice pilaf or the wild rice salad, or the….well, you get the idea.

But silence. That has eluded me since those brief moments this afternoon when all was calm and well. The kids are currently getting ready for bed, which means that I may once again find a few brief moments of silence prior to falling into sleep.

Leave a Reply

