Refuse to be Passive

A Culinary Adventure– or not

In Food, Life in General on September 13, 2011 at 12:05 pm

“I don’t really like raisins.” ” Are there nuts in this?” “Eww…coconut.” I must confess that when moving into my current home, complaining about baking was the last thing I expected to hear. Most kids would be over the moon for regular homemade baked goods, but these kids seem more interested in President’s Choice Chocolate Chip Cookies. Even their father, who would never say so out loud, only really likes the simple baking. He doesn’t like raisins either. Their mother is pretty open, but I can tell in the first hour whether I’ve hit it out of the park or whether it’s going to be a long road for the baking I’ve just made. For example, I made five dozen peanut butter cookies yesterday. By midnight tonight they’ll all be gone. The adults alone will eat four or five a piece over the course of the evening. Considering there are four adults in the house, and then another two kids, plus whoever is visiting, I suppose it’s not really surprising.

A couple of weeks ago I made chocolate coconut drop cookies and they sat there all week, slowly being munched on by one of the adults, the rest of the house rejecting them for the coconut. Such a shame. Today, I’m experimenting with chocolate banana muffins with coconut. We’ll see how they go over. I tasted the batter and it was delicious. Fingers crossed other people will think so too.

That being said, there’s been some challenges in my baking with adjusting temperatures, liquid, and flour due to the humidity out here. My peanut butter cookies yesterday required an extra 2/3 cup flour. I had a similar experience with my ginger cookies (those also didn’t last). Thankfully, my cooking has not needed much tweaking due to the humidity.

Tonight we’ve got stir-fry on the menu, and we’ll have to see how the tofu goes over. We’ve just had 2 vegans join our community and I think it will take a while for the rest of the community to understand that you don’t need to have meat at all three of your daily meals. That being said, things like Taco Wednesday make for easy adjustments.  Yesterday night we had spaghetti with homemade sauce and most of the adults seemed surprised that you could have such a great sauce without having meat in it. It’s good to broaden one’s horizons. I also made spaghetti squash for me and the hardcore vegan girl who opted out of the spaghetti as it may contain eggs. It was delightful, and once again, a few people tried it and were surprised to find that they enjoyed it. The kids, well they like what they know, and as such, weren’t such big fans of this divergence in cooking. But they’ll learn, assuming their parents don’t let them get away with being picky eaters.

But without further ado, my own personal recipe for Banana Chocolate Muffins with Coconut:

1/2 cup butter

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

1/2 cup egg whites

2 large, ripe, mashed bananas

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp sea salt (used 1/2 tsp if using table salt)

3/4 cup unsweetened coconut

Cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs and banana. Mix well.

Combine dry ingredients and add them to the wet. Mix until just moistened. Fill paper lined muffin tins 3/4 full.

Bake immediately at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Note: Baking times may vary. If you’re in a drier climate, watch for a shorter baking time.

Leave a Reply

