Refuse to be Passive

A day better than I deserve

In Life in General on August 26, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Have you ever had a day that was so filled with good things that you couldn’t help but thing, “I don’t deserve a day this good.” I had a day like that today. The funny thing was, it was all due to events that I knew were going to occur, going in a different direction than I’d originally intended. For example, I wandered too far down the street to get to the bank because I wasn’t paying attention. As such, I passed the Salvation Army Thrift Store, which was having a one day sale, with many of their clothes on for 2 dollars. Therefore, I wandered into the store and bought two skirts, capris, and a blouse for $8. I needed new clothes but had been holding off on buying them because I’m on a tight budget. Well, pretty much any budget can handle $2 for a piece of clothing. I’m thrilled!

What else? I had a job interview at a local independent coffee shop. They have great coffee and when I went in there two days ago to drop off a resume, the owner/manager had been very nice, but non-committal. The next day I got a call from the other manager for an interview, which occurred today. The interview went well, and I got a free americano out of the deal as well. Now I just have to wait and see what happens.

I had another interview at a local Japanese restaurant where I was applying to be a server. I guess that the owner of the restaurant didn’t read it very closely, because he thought I’d been applying for kitchen staff. That being said, he asked me for why I was getting into culinary and where I was hoping that would lead, so I told him my story and mentioned that someday maybe I’d like to own my own bistro. From there, things took a bit of an odd turn. He told me that the reason he’d invited for an interview was that in his 27 years in the business, he’d never seen a resume as well put together as mine. He said that his restaurant wasn’t the right fit for me, due to my true passion for food and my commitment to the culinary industry. He felt his restaurant wouldn’t give me the best learning experience I could have. As such, he asked me what type of cuisine I’d wanted to work in, I told him, and he said that he would use his contacts to hook me up with some of the quality restaurants around town. He would use his contacts to help me get a kitchen job, even though I have little experience and my knife skills haven’t been developed yet (class is still all theory). That being said, I think I’m going to have to start practicing my knife skills at home! So, I didn’t get the job, but I got something better, I got connections. Whoot! After all, it’s not what you know, but who you know.

And then the rest of the day was just lovely. I stumbled across a book at the library that I’d been meaning to read. I took the dog for a walk along the lake shore. I traipsed through a bunch of stores looking for kitchen shoes. I got two chapters of reading done in my text. I’ll get those two chapters done in my workbook tomorrow. Have I mentioned that it’s just been a really good day?

I feel truly blessed and look forward to see how these new developments work out. God is gracious, compassionate, and never ceases to surprise me.

Leave a Reply

