Refuse to be Passive

Here Comes the Rain

In Life in General on August 7, 2011 at 7:10 am

It’s raining pretty well outside. The first time since I’ve gotten to Toronto. Apparently it’s been a dry summer for them. Apparently I brought Edmonton’s weather with me. The air is muggy. You take a shower, get out, dry off, and feel like you need another shower. Your skin becomes sticky in no time flat and when in a public place, you pray that your deodorant is working well, and that everyone else’s is too. There’s church this morning, and I’m not exactly sure what time it starts. I think it’s 10:30, but it may well be 11. That being said, I don’t really want to show up half an hour early, only to have to hang out in the rain for half an hour. I was intending on going to the Anglican church and checking that out, but maybe I’ll opt for the Presbyterian, as I know for a fact that they start at 11.

Although Sundays are typically a day of rest, I think that a bit of my afternoon will be spent prepping and priming the floor of my bedroom. I really want to get as much of it done as possible, before I have to get going with all my school stuff.

It’s hard to believe that I begin culinary school tomorrow. I’ve been dreaming about this for a few years now, and the time has finally come. Amidst the rolling thunder, and the sound of raindrops landing on leaves, I can’t help but feel calm, no sense of trepidation at the upcoming day. Although I’m not really sure what to expect, I think that coming into this process as a mature student may give me an advantage. Hopefully I’ll be able to work quickly, accurately, and with a cool head, even though the heat in the kitchen will undoubtedly become intense.

But for now, I focus on the falling rain, watering the earth. When I look out and see how God takes care of his creation, watering it, providing it with sun, I know that he is a loving God. I know that he cares for his creation, and he also cares for me. He has allowed everything to click into place to make this life change a possibility. I have to believe he will bless me in it. Granted, I have yet to do the job hunt, and I’m a little nervous about that. But I’ll wind up where I’m supposed to be. I’ll put in the leg work and let God take care of the rest.

A happy Sunday to you all. May it be a day of rest, peace, and anticipation for the week to come.

Leave a Reply

