Refuse to be Passive

Rain, rain, go away…

In Life in General on July 20, 2011 at 11:58 am

I wish the weather in Edmonton would make up it’s mind. This entire summer has been rain filled, interspersed with a few hours of sunlight here or there. Yesterday I was sweating as I walked to work, and I was thinking the next morning I’d have to walk in a skirt. It was a calm, bright, sunny morning, the kind that you love right until you can’t get the sun out of your eyes and you wish you’d opted for contacts and sunglasses.

This morning, I got up and put on a skirt, anticipating another warm walk. I popped in my contacts and made sure to dig my sunglasses out of the bottom of my purse.  I got out the door, shades at the ready, only to discover a chilly overcast day. Let me tell you, all this rain and overcast, all these thunderstorms, are not part of your typical Edmonton summer.

That being said, it seems that weather is going wonky right across the country. Storms seem to be becoming the norm. And while the days may not be seeming much hotter than usual (if at all), apparently our nights are getting warmer, meaning the earth has less time to cool before the start of another day. Some climatologists think that’s the reason all the storms are kicking up. Chalk one up for global warming. Now, I’m not going to start arguing about causes of global warming and if it’s all humanities fault or if it’s natural, or if it’s a combo, however I will say that if you still doubt global warming after the weather and disasters of the past few years, you’ve got your head stuck in the sand. That being said, the only bird I can think of that sticks its head in the sand has a brain the size of its eyeball.  (Oh, and I have no recollection of where I read that climatology pieces, but I do remember it was a reputable source).

That being said, I have started reducing my carbon footprint by getting rid of my car– although I admit there were more reasons for nixing the car than just that– and starting to embrace the life of a pedestrian. I tend to walk unless public transit is absolutely necessary. Once I move to Toronto in a few weeks, I’ll look into getting a bike as well. But, as I am without a vehicle, I say this to that gray sky and the moisture that continually seems to surround us, “Rain, rain, go away! Come again another day.”

Leave a Reply

