Refuse to be Passive

Crazy Love

In Uncategorized on July 6, 2011 at 9:01 am

These past couple of weeks I’ve been feeling the love. You don’t often hear from people how much you mean to them. For some reason that all changes when you tell them you’re moving away to go back to school. All of a sudden the time crunch is on and you wind up with people hugging you at random, telling you how much you’ll be missed. Okay, so only my sister is doing that at this point. But I’ve also had people come into my office to let me know that they’ll miss me– and this with another three weeks to go at work! I’ve already been taken out for two goodbye lunches, one for work and one with some ladies from my church. The ladies from my church also set me up with some lovely giftcards that will be helpful in outfitting myself as a commuter– MEC and Chapters, here I come! Actually, I think I’ll wait on those until I’m out east as that means less to pack. So I’ve been bombarded at work and church with well wishes from friends and acquaintances. Many of them have tried to make me promise to come back. While that is my current intent, no promises have been made.

And then, yesterday, I experienced a truly crazy form of love. I got an envelope in the mail from one of my best friends from high school. While we don’t often get the chance to meet up anymore, we’d been able to grab dinner together a few weeks ago when I was at a conference in her home town. I was delighted by the mail, thinking it was a follow-up note in regards to our time spent together, with updates on some of the things we’d discussed. She’s one of those friends who you can just pick up with where you left off, regardless of time lapse. I love those friends. Anyway, it was not a note exactly as I’d expected. Without going into too much detail I will say this, the envelope did contain a note, but it was scrawled on a stickynote. The sticky note was attached to a cheque intended to help me out with school. I was floored. I certainly hadn’t expected that! Especially not from someone I only get to see once every few years! That is true generosity in action. That is crazy love. I hope that in the future I have the opportunity to repay that kindness. In which way, I do not know. But hopefully I can remember this act of crazy love in friendship, and pay it forward to those I meet in my daily life in both word and deed.

Leave a Reply

