Refuse to be Passive

Mosquitoes are back

In Life in General on May 17, 2011 at 9:02 am

The mosquitoes are back with a vengeance. Every year I am amazed at how it only takes 24hrs to go from having a lovely, bug-free, spring day, to having an insect filled Spring day. It’s sad really. We only get a couple of Spring days minus the insects, and it seems that they’ve come and gone for another year.

I was walking home last night and started walking through swarms of small, black, flying insects. I had thought they were just like those swarms you get other summers, you know, those ones that swarm but don’t bite or anything. They just seem to be a general nuisance and give you the jitters? All of a sudden I felt something on my arm, and a mosquito was there, sucking up a few drops of blood. I slapped it, and felt I’d done my good deed for the day. One less mosquito in the world. I did any number of good deeds on my walk home from work yesterday. I guess it’s time to pull out the bug spray. I’m not a big fan of that stuff, not the smell or the potential side effects on health, but I’m also not a fan of being stuck by mosquitos and then being itchy for weeks on end. So, it’s the lesser of two evils.  It’s kind of funny how for most of the winter I dream of Spring days, and the long days of summer. I remember the heat as being not so bad, but always forget about the bugs. Darn it all. The bugs are back.

Note: Yes, I know that insects and bugs are not the same thing, but I got sick of writing the same word over and over again.

Leave a Reply

