Refuse to be Passive

The Concept of Self

In Uncategorized on May 12, 2011 at 1:25 pm

It’s been over a week since I last posted. Between Pampered Chef parties, individual orders, and being on the underside of the weather, I haven’t much felt like blogging. Even most of my baking and cooking I’ve forgotten to take pictures of. Shame on me. That being said, I have one recipe I can’t wait to test-drive this weekend– chocolate mango truffles. Should be divine!

As for non-food aspects of life, I found myself pondering today what makes up a person? Now I believe that there are many aspects to a person, their physical, mental, and spiritual self. Yes, I believe everyone has a soul, although some are more tarnished than others.

But truly, what makes a person? Is it their outside? It’s true that initially we tend to judge people by how they look. Once we get to know them, however, we judge by personality and their looks take a back seat. I have a friend who is truly obese, and I often don’t notice it because the charisma in her personality is what makes her lovable. She’s one of those people you can’t help but like. I’ve heard it rumored that she has an arch-nemesis, but I find that hard to believe. So it’s clearly not the body that makes the person, and yet we live in a society that is obsessed with physical appearance. That being said, clearly it’s not only about physical appearance. People don’t treat me differently now that I’ve lost weight. Those who talked to me before still do, and those who didn’t I still view as snobs.

So then there is personality. That pizazz that makes a person who they are. Some people are loveable, some spunky, some snobby, and some seem devoid of all of it. Is that who they are? It can’t be. The snobby person can be insecure, the spunky dealing with depression, and those devoid of personality may simply be deep thinkers, oblivious to much of what’s going on around them.

And then there is the spiritual aspect that our society tries to tuck away into a corner. You can live out your beliefs in your home, but don’t try to take them on the road with you. Who are they kidding? Anyone who holds any form of belief, particularly a religious code, won’t be able to help taking it out of their homes with them because of the ethical and moral implications their beliefs have on their lifestyle.

Really, I suppose it’s all three things and that on occasion, one stands out more than the rest. It’s the combination of the above that makes someone who they are. Who we are though, is also more than the sum of our parts. We cannot simply opt to have more charisma or a different personality. We cannot deny that we all hold to a belief system– whether it’s belief in nothing or belief in everything. We cannot fail to recognize that our physical beings reflect more than just the physical– they can represent anything from respect, to sloth, to control, to obsessiveness. It’s kind of crazy, really.

I doubt I’ll ever truly understand the concept of self, but it doesn’t mean I’ll stop trying.

Leave a Reply

