Refuse to be Passive

The Road to the Horizon

In Uncategorized on April 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about life lately– where I’ve come from and where I’m going. Come August I’m quitting my desk job and following my passion for food all the way to Toronto to go to culinary school, with a program specializing in becoming a personal chef. My student line of credit from my undergrad degree isn’t paid off yet, and in a completely uncharacteristic financial move, I’m opting to go back to school anyway.

When I was young, my family was playing a board game. I was a stickler for not buying unless I had the cash. At the end of the game, I would either just come out head, or would loose by a good bit. On this day, I was losing rather badly. My father talked me into taking out a whopper loan, citing that sometimes you have to go into debt to get ahead. My twelve year old mind was dubious about this concept, but I trusted my father and opted to go all-in. I then proceeded to go bankrupt. This struck my father as hilarious.I was horrified. I was a failure! And he’d lied to me!

Ever since then, I’ve been careful financially, choosing to never live beyond my means and making sure I kept up on all loan payments, and paid of my Visa in full at the end of the month. As a result, I have a stellar credit rating, so maybe that was a good lesson. That being said, when I graduated from university I decided I’d live tight, although not uncomfortably, for the next 5 years, pay off my loan, and go from there. It’s only been three years. I still have $12,000 left in debt, and I’m going back to school. Why? Because time is precious.

Lately I’ve seen a number of my friends have their friends pass away. These people have been in their late 20s and early 30s. It’s really made me think about whether I want the next two years to be spent behind a desk when I know it’s not where I’m meant to be. I’m scared of biding my time, and then having the timer run out.

And so, currently, an uncertain road stretches before me, out to the horizon. I’m thankful for an adventurous spirit that encourages me to grab hold of opportunities. If I didn’t, there’s so much I could miss out on. Now is the time for me to realize that if I don’t take a chance, it may never come again.

Leave a Reply

