Refuse to be Passive

Basket Weave and Cake Decorating

In Food, Life in General on April 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm

I have a friend who is into fondant and the like. She loves decorating cakes, and I’m always really impressed by the work she does. I’m amazed that quality like that can come out of a domestic kitchen. She made a comment the other day about doing basket weave, which left me wondering how exactly one does do a basket weave. Thus, today, I Googled it. Goodness. I should have remained blissfully ignorant. It’s not rocket science, but how time consuming it must be! It’s a very nit picky process, and I had to read the instructions over a few times before I could grasp what it was actually saying. Then, once I processed how one does a basket weave, I began to understand why specialty cakes are so darn expensive! The time and care that goes into making a cake like that is intense. I, personally, had I decorated a cake with a basket weave, would be horrified when someone sliced into it. All those hours making it look perfect! All that frustration when things didn’t go according to plan! All the preparation and patience! All of it demolished with a few quick slices. And then someone saying something like, “Wow, there’s a lot of icing on this cake,” at which point they scrape off the lovely basket weave and leave it in a pile on the side of their plate. I’m in pain just thinking about it. Goodness. It’s a good thing I’m going to school to take standard culinary arts and not cake decorating, or I might just want to hurt myself. *sigh* That being said, I truly admire the people who have the patience and consistency to do things like that. They’ve got to be rather analytical, detail oriented people with a good dose of creativity. Creativity I’ve got. Detail oriented? Sure, but not to that extent! Analytical? Good with math and fractions? Not really, but I can do it. At least it’s not conics!

  1. Love this! And I’m with you…sometimes detail is just silly.

Leave a Reply

