Refuse to be Passive

Slobishness

In Uncategorized on March 25, 2011 at 10:59 am

Slobishness. Not technically a word, but in some ways reminiscent of snobbishness– as in, it drives me nuts. Anyone who knows me well knows that I’m not the neatest person in the world. My apartment can be a mess, just like anybody else’. What bothers me is when messiness in one’s personal life spills over into their professional life.

The past few days at work have been driving me nuts. I walk into work and it’s a cluttered mess. There are dishes by the sink, some clean, some dirty. There are remnants from an even hosted a week ago still lying around because no one really wants to take care of cleaning it up (yes, I did clean it up). And our storage room smells like sour milk because someone has been neglecting to rinse our their chocolate milk containers before throwing them in the recycling. Disgusting. Our main meeting room table was piled high with papers, mugs, and pens, that, once again, I found myself neatening up. I put away the toaster that was out but hadn’t been used since the day before. I stopped myself from cleaning up a co-worker’s desk, as I think they’d be insulted. But it needs it, and it’s in a very visible location as well.

People in my office have been taking longer lunch breaks as my boss is at a conference, and I’m just becoming uncomfortable in the lack of professionalism within my office. Granted, I can’t claim to be perfect and I occasionally leave stuff lying around, but this week has just seemed bad.

And what about when you have a co-worker who is always saying how busy they are, and yet seem to manage to keep a running commentary on Facebook or always be discussing the latest app for their iPhone? I don’t understand (insert note of desperation and despair). Poor use of time is a form of slobishness all on it’s own. Don’t complain about being too busy if you’re not using your time well.

Maybe it’s just because my plate is fuller than usual, and it seems like everyone else has less to do, but I’m feeling like I work in a really slack office. That being said, I do like all the people I work with and don’t want to come across as the heavy. But really, how many YouTube videos can one justify in a day?

Leave a Reply

