Refuse to be Passive

Obsidian Stout Ginger Torte

In Food on March 18, 2011 at 10:35 am

It was my brother-in-law’s birthday yesterday, and I wanted to make him a cake. In honour of St. Patty’s day, as well as the fact that he’s a bit of a beer aficionado and loves ginger, I settled on the Epicurious Guiness Stout Ginger Cake. Due to a missing ingredient or two– like molasses and Guinness, a bit of adaptation was necessary. I substituted part corn syrup and part brown sugar for the molasses and used an Obsidian Stout from Portland in place of the Guinness. The cake was dense, but lovely. Next time, I’ll make sure I have molasses on hand.

 

From there I topped it with ginger whipped cream and raspberries. Overall, a nice cake with a cup of coffee. And my brother-in-law? He loved it.

Leave a Reply

