Refuse to be Passive

What if…

In Uncategorized on March 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

If I started as many of my days with scripture as I do with coffee, what would life look like? Would I speak out against injustice and oppression with my wallet as well as my mouth? Would I finally yield fully to God, rather than trying to be my own authority and building my own idols to chase after?

Where does our selfishness– my selfishness– stop me from doing what is right for the sake of convenience and comfort? As with so many issues I consider, my thoughts turn to food. Buy local? Buy organic? Buy ethical? How does that tie in with being responsible with the monetary resources God has given me? Normally my thoughts on this tend towards, don’t spend = responsible, but is that true? Isn’t it more irresponsible to buy based on price, when things like sustainability, ethics, and health, are all integral parts of my faith and values? Does it come down to all things in moderation? Was Jesus moderate?

Leave a Reply

