Refuse to be Passive

Reading, a novel idea

In Life in General on March 6, 2011 at 8:43 pm

I’m surrounded by stacks of books. I visited the library today and remembered how much I love books and reading. From novels to self-help to spiritual to journals, they’re all there. What is it about a book that is so fabulous? And why has it been so long since I’ve absorbed myself in the pages of one. Actually, that’s not true. I’m reading a novel right now, but it’s been a long time since I came across a novel I devoured. Truth be told, I’ve been having issues finishing novels. I haven’t been able to get lost in the plot lines or character development, but with the plethora of books surrounding me now, I can feel the winds of change. But where to start?

Well, the proper place to start is with the book I have yet to finish. There isn’t that much left of it, and I think it’s important that I finish it. I love the sense of accomplishment. From there, starting a new book starts with a cup of tea. Will it be Licorice Mint or Earl Grey Green Tea? Earl Grey you say? I agree– especially since I’ve already got a large cup of it sitting beside me.

The next question becomes, fiction or no? I like books that challenge me in my everyday thinking and life, but sometimes you just need a good bit of escape. I feel ashamed to say it, but Dostoevsky and Dickens do little for me unless I’m reading them towards a purpose– such as a book club with good group discussion including historical perspective and such. I’ll never read them simply to read them. That’s just exhausting. Maybe if I had insomnia or needed a nap.

As for the non-fiction, there always seems to be more that I want to read than have time to read and so I tend to read very little of it. Bad logic, I know. But the truth is, when there’s a tough choice to be made, making no choice often seems like the best option.

Now, to make the move from writing to reading! Let’s get that novel finished off.

Leave a Reply

