Refuse to be Passive

You’re My Inspiration

In Life in General on March 5, 2011 at 12:16 pm

“You’re my inspiration.” That little sentence is one that we all hope to hear someday, and for me, that day was today. I was tying my boots, getting ready to leave after my Weight Watchers meeting this morning and I was chatting with one of the regular attendees. We were discussing life and food, as people in Weight Watchers tend to do, and then she came out with, “I have to tell you, you’re my inspiration. I look forward to seeing you at meetings each week. I always come in, look around for you, and when I see you, I think, ‘Yes! She came.”‘ I was, of course, thrilled by the compliment and thanked her. But once I had bid her farewell and wished her a good week, I got to thinking.

I’m her inspiration. I’m part of the reason she comes to meetings. She loves hearing of my tips and tricks, my stories of falling down and getting back up again. I’m an inspiration…I’m a fraud! How can I inspire someone? There’s nothing truly inspiring about me. She wouldn’t be so inspired if she saw the amount of chocolate cake I downed last night. She only sees the good– mostly the successes and my passion for food and healthy eating. She doesn’t ever truly see my total binge nights– the nights where healthy eating and all common sense goes out the window.

In some ways it’s a little troubling, but then I stumbled across this thought. I am human. I do stumble and fall, but it’s what I do with it that makes the difference. If for no other reason than the fact that I rise from my failures, I can encourage others to rise as well. My passion is undoubtedly part of what makes me inspire her. But beyond that, it’s the fact that while I’m not perfect, I am a success. If I can do it, anyone can and that is inspiring.

Leave a Reply

