Refuse to be Passive

It’s not the place. It’s the people.

In Life in General on February 12, 2011 at 12:11 am

I’m out of the city this weekend and am spending some time in the mountains. I’m attending a retreat on working with youth– teens in particular. There’s also much time for relaxation, including an evening at the hot springs! It’s sure to be a delight. But I have to admit that each time I leave home for some place new, be it for a night, weekend, week, or month, I come to the same conclusion. Visiting a new location is great, but what really makes a place great is the people. It’s no fun going to an art gallery, hitting up a local coffee roaster, or admiring building architecture if you don’t have someone to ooh and ahh over it with. Beyond that, a town may be quaint as you meander it’s streets for an hour or two, but if you’re there for a few days, without others to enjoy it with, it can get pretty boring. For me that has been borne out in the city I currently live in. I love it. Why do I love it? Well, there are great festivals, but what is great about the festival? Enjoying it with others. There are fantastic restaurants, but who wants to dine alone? What makes my city truly great are the people I meet. All have their own stories and backgrounds. Most are fascinating. There’s nothing better than just having friends over for an evening of talk and then playing a game of Things or Apples to Apples. Really, it all comes down to the people– the people you’ve chosen to invest your life in. We’re made to be social creatures, so what’s the best and most brilliant in a city are your friends, be they current or future friends, and all of the experiences you can share together.

Leave a Reply

