Refuse to be Passive

The Cheesecake Dilemma

In Food, Life in General, Uncategorized on January 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

A sad smile crosses my face as I look out my office window and into the reception area. Someone has dropped off a cheesecake at the front desk. Although I enjoy cheesecake as much as the next person, I am choosing not to partake. My sad smile isn’t for me though. There’s a woman helping herself to cheesecake who has been struggling with wanting to lose weight for the past two and a half years, and yet she only ever gains. It is her that the sad smile is for. Every time there is some high sugar, high fat goodie at the front desk, she’s one of the first ones there. She claims that she wants to be healthy, but all she’s really looking for it seems, is someone to support her in her failure. It may sound harsh, but I was with her in a weight loss support group for a year, and every week she came forward with a new excuse. I must admit, most of that group was about supporting each other in failure. I think it’s part of the reason it fell apart. No one was making any progress, including me. Now that I’ve adopted a healthy lifestyle, I feel sorry for those still stuck in the emotional eating cycle. I’m not saying that I don’t have off days, but my days of overeating have become an exception, rather than the rule. When I do overindulge, rather than berating myself, I try to take it in stride. There’s a certain amount of empowerment felt when you can control your eating tendencies—when you can enjoy food but not let it control you. I wish it was something I could pass on to my friend grabbing the cheesecake, but she’ll have to come to terms with it and embrace the realities of weight loss and healthy living on her own.

Leave a Reply

