Refuse to be Passive

Deleting Facebook ( or at least my account)

In Life in General on January 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

A few months ago I brought up the concept of deleting my Facebook account when chatting with a friend. He told me he’d also toyed with the idea, so we agreed that we’d delete our profiles in the new year. This has turned into a full blown event with food and guests– the whole gambit. He’s even going to make purple Kool-Aid in honour of the occasion.
The closer this event comes (it’s a week from tomorrow), the more nervous I become. There’s potential to loose touch with people I consider friends, even if I don’t talk to them all that often as it is. For example, I saw an acquaintance today for the first time in half a year and we discussed getting together and doing something, so he said he’d send me a message on Facebook. In a week that will no longer be an option.
That being said, I’m kind of looking forward to the liberation from status updates, ads, friend invites from people I don’t know, and Facebook stalking. It’ll be nice. Kind of like dropping off the face of the earth, but still being here.
We’ll be using the Web 2.0 Suicide Machine, which erases your profile from places like Facebook. You can also use it for LinkedIn, Twitter, and MySpace.
Yes, I’ll still have e-mail and my cell phone, but I will quickly find who my real friends are by if they extend communication outside of the Facebook realm. This is going to be an experience! I’m already prepping myself mentally.

Leave a Reply

