Refuse to be Passive

A TV Fast

In Life in General, Movies with a bit of TV on January 18, 2011 at 9:45 am

I kind of despise TV. Don’t get me wrong, I still watch it. Maybe a more accurate statement is, I despise how watching too much TV makes me feel. When I watch too much TV I feel sluggish and lethargic. I also feel slightly pathetic, like I don’t have much of a life compared to the people on the screen. But then I have to remember, it’s all make believe. My life would be entertaining to if you chose only to show the exciting parts of my week and only had to look at my typing on a computer at work for 5 seconds before switching to another event. Also, I tend to get sucked into TV shows and develop relationships with the characters in the program. I feel bad for them, am happy with them, often empathize with them, and on occasion have to thank them for a revelation. That’s why it’s hard for me to sit down and watch just one episode if I have an entire season at my finger tips. And if I watch the entire season, I’ve lost a weekend I’ll never get back. Because of this, I am, once again, going on a TV fast– including TV watched over the internet. I’ll be more productive in everyday life, and probably feel better about myself in general. It should be delightful.

 

Leave a Reply

