Refuse to be Passive

Happy New Year! Any Resolutions?

In Life in General on January 3, 2011 at 8:34 am

Happy New Year to you all! It’s January 2nd and I’m out for the count with a whopping cold. My voice is almost non-existent, and every time I talk, one of my family members begins to laugh at my funny sounding voice– or what’s left of it. I don’t get sick very often, at least not with a cold that lasts for days on end. I’m much more likely to get something severe, painful, and short; lasting only a day or two. I don’t think I’ve had a cold like this in more than two years. But I still find myself in high spirits. I head back home today, a six hour drive north, which means that I should be able to finish one of my books-on-tape. Up until recently I thought them slightly lame, but they’ve proven to be amazingly proficient at keeping me alert at the wheel. Music doesn’t always have that effect. I’ve noticed that if my cruise control isn’t on, and I’m listening to a slow melodic song, not only do I get tired a wee bit, but I also tend to ease up on the gas pedal.  And then a fast paced song with a good strong beat will make my speedometer rise into a zone where I begin to fear being pulled over by the cops. I prefer using cruise control, but sometimes, it just doesn’t work– particularly if the highway is too busy. It’s snowing lightly outside right now, and I hope it doesn’t get any worse. Light snow is fine to drive in, provided it’s not becoming cover for black ice on the read. My mother is already squeamish about all of her children leaving today, even though none of us have hit the road yet. I just put up a prayer, make sure the conditions are fairly safe, and hit the road. It’s all in God’s hands after all. You can have an accident in dry conditions as well as in snowy ones. And that brings me to my goal for the coming year, not a resolution, but a goal. This year I want to realise that regardless of the situation, it’s all in God’s hands. I believe in a loving God who wants the best for me, even if sometimes I make bad decisions and have to face the consequences. This year, I want to put everything into the hands of my loving God and make the most of it. I’ll try to be responsible in the decisions I make, be it monetary, physical, career oriented, or family oriented. But from there, I’m going to hands off and not worry. I know, easier said than done. But the truth of the matter is that, even though there have been hard times in my life, they’ve always worked out for the best and I believe in God’s plans to prosper his people, not harm them. And so now, I put up a prayer to God, a prayer for blessing on the coming year, clarity of thought filled with wisdom and discernment, and a heart filled with love for my family, friends, neighbours, and the stranger I meet on the street.

May God provide you with a year filled with moments of joy, moments of learning, and the wisdom to recognize them all as gifts.

  1. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

