Refuse to be Passive

The Souffle Flop

In Food on December 17, 2010 at 10:23 am

Yesterday I tried making pumpkin souffles for the first time. They baked up nicely, but I pulled them from the oven too early. They flopped. Sad, but true. But I will not be deterred! I’ve concluded that between opening the oven to check the souffles, which changed the temperature, and not whipping the egg yolks enough, that I just barely missed the mark. Thankfully, the souffles were delicious, so no one minded the flop. Note to self for next time, rub reminkins with butter, not cooking spray, and then use sugar as an added layer to keep the souffle from sticking to the remikin– oh, and don’t adjust the number of eggs in the recipe. Whoops. I had half an egg too much, due to adjusting a recipe to go from 4 to6. I didn’t think it would make that much of a difference. I can’t wait to try it again!

Sorry there are no pictures. I was cursing myself when I saw how pretty they were.

Leave a Reply

