Refuse to be Passive

Only Wednesday

In Life in General on December 15, 2010 at 10:25 am

It’s only Wednesday. This whole week I’ve been thinking it’s a day later than it actually is.  On the bright side, that means I don’t have class until tomorrow, that I’m getting together with a friend for dinner tonight, and that I still have a day before trying my hand at pumpkin souffle. I’ve never made a souffle before. The word souffle seems to fill a lot of people with trepidation, but once I looked at how they’re made, I have no idea why? It looks to be a relatively simple process. It’s like poaching an egg– not in a microwave or in a poaching cup, but in a pan. If you tell a person that you poach your eggs in boiling water, they look at you with awe and regard. Actually, poaching an egg is about as easy as frying one. Don’t believe me? Check out my previous post on this and then try it for yourself!

In other matters, last night I did what I’d be putting off for weeks. I went clothes shopping. I’ve lost about 30 pounds in the past few months and am now at the point where I cannot go without new clothes. It’s an expensive process, so I’ve been procrastinating. Yesterday I realized that I was down to one pair of jeans (recently acquired and already too big), one skirt, and that’s it. All my other clothes were too big to the point of needing to be tailored or given away. I love my new size, and the clothes shopping, which I’ve dreaded in the past, turned out to be a delight. There was so much that I fit into and look good in now! Only five or ten more pounds and I think I’ll be at an ideal weight.

Tonight, as I’ve mentioned, I’m making dinner with a friend. He’s probably the best cooking friend I’ve ever had, and I’ve had a number in the past. You know, those friends who every time you visit, you wind up hanging out in the kitchen. He’s such a fan, he’s even created a blog to track our past attempts. I think we’ll need to start photographing our results. Blogs are so much more interesting with photographs. Hmm…speaking of which, mine hasn’t had any photos in a while. Let me see if  I can find anything interesting to post.

Well, no interesting ones. Maybe you’ll just have to wait for next time. Ah well, c’est la vie.

On another note, I made oven roasted asparagus with lemon, sea salt, and pepper last night. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

