Refuse to be Passive

You keep me sane

In Life in General on December 6, 2010 at 1:12 pm

On the flip side of the coin to driving me batty, are those who keep me sane. I have a few friends, a select few, who keep me sane. They never drive me nuts, and always help me pick my way through whatever situations I’m in. These are people I cherish. They tend to be active listeners– rarely interrupting, but always having excellent feedback. One of my sanity friends is coming for dinner tonight, and I’m delighted to see her. I still have no idea what we’ll be eating, but that’s a minor detail. Sanity friends are people you can talk with for hours, saying the most stupid or brilliant thing, and they’ll still think the same of you when they leave as when they came. They are genuinely happy in your joys, and pained by your sorrows. At the same time, they can help you step away from a situation and see it for what it truly is. They challenge and enforce your values, morals, and ideals at the same time. These are the people who make life what it should be–beautiful.

There is such joy to be had in simple conversation. A few weeks ago, I sat at Second Cup, waiting for an acquaintance to arrive. I took a few minutes to people watch, and was struck by the fact that human are social creatures. Not exactly rocket science, I know. But if you walk into a coffee shop at 5 pm after a long day of work, you can literally watch the stress and demands of the day melt off people’s faces as they catch up with a friend. They sit, talking back and forth, spouting words and sipping drinks, and it’s profound– whether they’re talking Kant or The Simpsons (some may say they have aspect in common). Too often we forget to cherish the little things, like conversation with friends who keep us sane and a warm Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate…mmm.

On a bit of a different note, have you ever seen someone who normally drives you nuts, and all of a sudden you feel sorry for them?

Leave a Reply

