Refuse to be Passive

The Christmas Obsession

In Life in General on November 8, 2010 at 12:55 pm

It’s only the 8th of November, and I’m already fighting the holiday feeling. I have a general rule of thumb not to listen to Christmas music until December the 1st, but can usually only hold out until November 25th, the day after American Thanksgiving. I have Christmas carols running through my head, as well as images of Bing Crosby in a Santa hat and James Stewart staring at a Christmas tree. The truth of the matter is that I don’t even like the  movie, “It’s a Wonderful Life,” but boy, do those images give me warm fuzzies! I’ve also started shopping for my Christmas cocktail dress, that I intend on buying every year, but can never find something I’m happy with. I’m also already planning my Christmas party. The invitations are complete, and waiting to be printed. No Facebook invites for me. No, I’m going to do Christmas up right.

I’m not Christmas obsessed, don’t get me wrong. I’m not like my co-worker across the hall who is alone in her department today and so has the carols ringing. She also has a small snowman jar sitting on her desk filled with papernoten, which, although I’m sure I spelled it wrong, might just be the best little Christmas treat ever. Basically they’re nickle sized ginger cookies. There’s nothing quite like a ginger cookie and a hot cup of black coffee. Although, a nice piece of chocolate candy cane cake always goes down well. Mmm…Christmas baking. I think I need to get myself some snowflake cookie cutters for sugar cookies this year. I always think the snowflakes look so classy compared to the snowman and reindeer cookies, although I suppose the cutters make a big difference.  Indeed, the thrill of Christmas is upon me! My official kick-off to the Christmas season this year will be November 30th, when I’ll be going to a jazz Christmas concert with my friend. I can hardly wait! Only 22 more days.

Leave a Reply

