Refuse to be Passive

There’s a chill in the air…

In Life in General on October 26, 2010 at 10:21 pm

…and another day without a spot of sun. It was a whopping -4C when I went for a walk over lunch hour this afternoon, and I couldn’t help but wish that I’d worn tights rather than nylons. Then, maybe, my legs wouldn’t be freezing, although that gave me little hope for my toes, which did have a pair of socks on them too and still wound up sore.

It was a busy, yet not terribly productive day, filled with meetings, a trip to numerous book stores, a walk to the bank, a gathering with some ladies from church, and homemade chair at a friend’s house. Although, reading all this over doesn’t make my day look nearly as unproductive as it felt.

Today I got the question again, “So, do you have a boyfriend? Are you seeing anyone?” Thankfully, this person asked in a thoughtful manner, without probing too deeply into my love life or lack thereof. We chatted for a bit about guys, and the lack of places in my life to meet them. We also chatted about the few I knew as friends and why none of them would be suitable candidates. That sounded a little clinical no? Candidates? Well, I suppose that’s what they are in some sense. The truth of the matter concerning my guy friends is that none of them share the same faith background that I have, and as my faith is extremely important to me, that creates an issue.

On the topic of faith, this morning I got up at six a.m. when the alarm clock in the other room went off. I’m staying in the guest room while my sister is out of town, however I neglected to turn off her alarm. And once I was up, then the dog wanted to be let out, so I did that. And by that time, there was little point in trying to go back to sleep for half and hour or an hour. As such, I chose instead to sit down with my Bible, journal, and Kathleen Norris’ The Cloister Walk, and spend a little time with God. I’d forgotten how much I love doing my devotions in the morning, and this morning was a great reminder. It’s a time where the business of the day has yet to invade my brain, and I’m awake enough that I’m not going to fall asleep over my Bible. It’s the time at which I’m at my best for taking in information and meditating on it. I know that for many people, this is not the case. Rather, devotions in the morning simply makes them fall asleep again. It’s actually rather surprising that morning is my preferred time of day for this, as I have the hardest time getting out of bed in the mornings. I must confess, I’m excited to get to bed soon so that I can wake up at six again and have that time alone with God. What will he teach me tomorrow I wonder?

Leave a Reply

