Refuse to be Passive

Autumn Delight

In Food, Life in General on October 22, 2010 at 9:31 am

Yesterday evening I went to my favourite local coffee shop, Transcend Coffee, to meet up with some friends. I ordered my black coffee, and chatted with the girls behind the counter. One of them said that I looked like Fall. I was wearing a tweed tam, black baby t, brown cardigan/sweater, brown plaid pants, and brown heels. And of course, the earrings to match, along with a burnt orange pashmina. The other girl said it made her feel like she was in Boston and was hanging with someone cooler than she. I must admit that I felt pretty great, and that I did feel like I dressed like autumn. The leaves are long gone, but until the snow flies, browns, grays and oranges will be making appearances in my wardrobe. Autumn is my favourite time of year, so if I can stretch it out, that’s just delightful.

Another part of autumn that I love is roasted root vegetables. There’s nothing better than hot, oven roasted vegetables like parsnips, carrots, and turnips. Parsnips are a personal favourite for me. I didn’t grow up with roasted root vegetables, my mother always boiled the veg in our house. A few years ago though, when I spent a semester in England, the little elderly lady I lived with made roasted veg all the time. I don’t think she knew you could boil carrots and parsnips. I learned from her and have never gone back. Want to try your own? It’s super easy. Here’s how:

Peel and cut your vegetables into the desired size. Toss with a bit of oil– anywhere from a tsp to a Tbsp. Sprinkle with freshly ground salt. Add pepper if desired. Spread on a cookie sheet, bake at 425 stirring occasionally until vegetables are crispy on the outside and tender on the inside– roughly 15 minutes. Remove from oven and enjoy! Careful, they’re really hot!

Leave a Reply

