Refuse to be Passive

Eating Healthy, Not Expensive

In Food on October 20, 2010 at 1:09 pm

So I’ve combined two parts of my life to present this post. During the day I work as a financial aid officer at a local university, and when I’m not at work I’m putting together yummy meals in my kitchen. Lately I’ve had two challenges come my way– reduce my monthly grocery bills, eat healthier. Those two aren’t always the easiest to combine, but I’m doing my best. As such, I created this soup yesterday, and it’s rather delish. If you’re really into hot food, add a couple of drops of hot sauce to the following:

 

Spicy Italian Soup

 

1 Tbsp oil

1 clove garlic

1 medium onion

1 pkg hot Italian sausage

½ cup orzo pasta, uncooked

2 litres vegetable soup stock

2 celery stalks, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

1 can (798ml) spiced diced tomatoes

1 can (398 ml) diced tomatoes

1 can (398 ml) mushrooms

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Mince garlic. Chop onion. Slice uncooked Italian sausage. In large fry pan heat oil, add garlic and onions. Cook until onions are translucent. Add Italian sausage. Cook until browned.

 

In large pot, add soup stalk, celery, carrots, spiced tomatoes (with liquid), and diced tomatoes (with liquid), and mushrooms. Add orzo pasta, Italian sausage, onion, and garlic. Bring to a boil—cook until pasta is al dente.

 

Serve with fresh homemade bread, or a light salad.

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

