Refuse to be Passive

25 and Single

In Life in General on October 19, 2010 at 3:40 pm

I have this friend. Yes, I know that’s usually covering for yourself when describing a situation, but really, it’s not me. Number one thing that proves it’s not me…he’s a he.
This friend is an interesting person in that he’s absurdly nice to all women. He’s a great, modern, single guy with a dash of chivalry. I can honestly say that I don’t know anyone else like him. He’s the type of guy all the girls wind up swooning over, even though by looks, he’s fairly average. It’s his personality that kicks it up a notch.
As I already know this about him, it creates little problem having him as a friend. I know he’s single right now for his own reasons, and that he’s not looking for anything. Fine with me, we don’t have any chemistry anyway. However, he does cause me some grief simply in being himself.
For example, he’s dropped by my office a few times in the past month to chat. Now my boss has decided that he’s got a bit of a thing for me, and that she should start probing me to that extent. Another co-worker has also inquired after him, as I don’t have a ton of guy friends, and my co-workers have certainly never met any of the others. It’s hard convincing them that there’s nothing there, and that he really does treat every woman like this. My boss told me not to sell myself short. I’m not. I just know him and I know there’s nothing there. Oh, being single and 25. People are oh so interested in my non-existent love life.
On a somewhat similar topic, my parents will be up this weekend, and I can’t help but wonder how long it will take before we hit the, “We’re praying for a good man for you,” part of the conversation. Honestly, for the most part, I’m happy being single. I don’t understand why people seem to have issues with that– why they can’t fathom being single and happy. If you can’t be happy by yourself, you won’t be happy in a relationship. I’ve seen my friends get into relationships when their not happy in themselves and it’s a disaster. Being part of a couple means you compliment each other, not complete each other. Now, if a younger David Boreanez with a stellar personality, and similar values happened to stumble into my life, I must admit, I wouldn’t say no. Although maybe that would be a bad thing. I think I might turn into a bit of a jealous girlfriend. On the other hand, as I haven’t had a boyfriend in years, that may have changed…

PS– Friend, I don’t think you know this blog exists. If you read this and think, “Hey, that sounds like me.” Well… it is. Now, don’t you just feel special? Warm fuzzies!

Leave a Reply

