Refuse to be Passive

Happy Thanksgiving

In Life in General, Uncategorized on October 11, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I write this post a few hundred kilometers from home from my sister’s computer. Originally I had intended to stay home this weekend, bypass the traditional feast, and get a bit of homework done instead. However, things rarely turn out how you plan, and so, Sunday morning I found myself driving out of Edmonton and heading west. Why? Well, I’m so glad you asked.

My sister has the mixed blessing of having her birthday on Thanksgiving. So, while we give thanks for her, we’re also giving thanks for a large turkey or ham sitting in front of us, along with mashed potatoes, broccoli, and for most people, stuffing and sweet potatoes. It also means that she usually doesn’t get a party, because people are either gone for Thanksgiving, or try to combine the two events.

This year proves to be a special on for my sister as she is celebrating her 30th birthday. As such, I didn’t want the weekend to go by without any special event, even though we’re gathering two weeks from now to celebrate a combined birthday for her and my mother. As such, I drove up to suprise her, and was she ever suprised! Her jaw almost hit the floor when she saw me, and then she gave me a big grin and moments later I was enveloped in a bear hug. She is one of my reasons to be thankful at this time of year, so I thought maybe I could return the favour and be one of her reasons for thanksgiving.

So, to all of you who have recovered enough from your turkey coma to read my post, I wish you a joyful holiday of thanksgiving for the amazing blessings God has graced us with. Take time to thank him for what you’re thankful for.

Leave a Reply

